Men's Clothing Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

· Registered
143 Posts
Hi! I just bought a pair of Yanko shoes from SkyValet (online retailer).
I was impressed with the quality and appearance. I am no expert though. I was able to get a great price (they were in the clearance sale).

Do a search of the fashion forum for more info. I did before I bought mine.

· Registered
143 Posts
I paid $231 for mine (down from $385).

I have no idea what a custom shoe would cost.

As far as quality, I imagine it would be a mid range shoe, as the cost suggests.
For me, they are fantastic, and are instantly my best pair of shoes!! Although that is not saying much...lol. They kill my converse's. :icon_smile_big:

I am an industrial designer that frequently designs leather made products. I can see and feel the quality, of the leather, and of the construction.

They seem to be a bit more fashion forward, which is perfect for me. I would buy again, especially at the price I bought my first pair.

Maybe the more knowledgeable members here can explain the differences better than me. Search!:thumbs-up:

· Registered
33 Posts
I've just picked up my second pair of Yanko shoes, and thought I'd add my thoughts.

My first pair were split-toe bluchers in a light tan calf, with a composite rubber sole. The stitching is very fine - in honesty, the equal of that I've seen on Edward Green / Grenson Handgrade. The leather is good and thick and doesn't crease up at flex points. Overall very happy, but a casual shoe with a rubber sole isn't the best to judge construction quality.

The most recent acquisition is a pair of black calf full brogues. The leather itself is of middling quality - in line with that used on Church's or C&J regular line. The finishing quality is also about average - there's a nicely bevelled waist that's more pronounced than anything I've seen from a non-handgrade line. They're stitched aloft, but quite neatly. They're fully leather lined.