Men's Clothing Forums banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
525 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
What is an appropriate winter cap for when it's in the single digits above zero (F) or colder? Specifically when one is wearing an overcoat over a suit? (I'm a Lutheran pastor and spend more than enough time standing in the wind chill at the graveside.)

I live in Minneapolis and it does get d*mn cold (there is a difference between "cold" and "d*mn cold") here several weeks each winter. Between my balding pate and my tender ears, I need something more than a fedora-type hat.

While I have "furry caps" (like the Russian cap; well, we do have to keep up our "Fargo" and "Grumpy Old Men" image up here!), they are quite bulky and not easily stored in the pocket of one's overcoat.

How about Navy watch caps and the like? Or Tilley's very nice but pricey winter hats and caps? ( )

Thanks!

·
Registered
1,520 Posts
See if you can find a good cashmere knit cap, I think that sometimes style has to take a backseat to survival and avoiding frostbite and if the russian fur look isn't your thing you need something AS warm with or without style. As for your glove post, I dont see any problem in not wearing leather gloves, I would keep some handy though for a more formal look, why not keep the leather gloves in your pockets and leave the knit ones in the car and swap them as needed.

·
Registered
1,352 Posts
Don't know if it'd work, but I've seen newsboy caps with earflaps in catalogs. I presume they fold up underneath. Bencraft Hats has one made in Italy in a cashmere/wool blend in a few colors for $45.00-item 39C. Might pass muster where a knit watch cap wouldn't.

·
Registered
1,022 Posts
In addition to the Tilley winter hat, which I endorse (although as the price goes up it's getting harder to do), Noggintops also carries a selection of caps with concealed ear flaps.

https://www.noggintops.com/page.cfm?p=15
The Noggintops look appropriate for wearing with suits.