Men's Clothing Forums banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, I have been visiting this site for several years, but just decided to register a few days ago. My first post concerns wide pant legs. Over the last decade or so I have become increasingly frustrated with the growing width of pant legs of many dress, dress casual and casual attire slacks out there. I prefer a slimmer pant leg. I am not sure if this is an American thing or not, but what are there brands that would fit my preference for a slimmer look pant leg without going custom?

Joel

·
Registered
2,556 Posts
Joel, an adequate alterations tailor can slim most pant legs down with ease for around $20-$30. i find it easier to get a pant I like, and then have my guy slim it down, rather than search high and low for the "perfect pant".

And welcome!

·
Connoisseur
5,988 Posts
Although you didn't define what you mean by "wide", I am assuming that my dress pants which average about 19" at the bottom meet your definition. Like you I decided that I wanted a few pairs that were a little more trim so I took several to my tailor and he easily slimmed them down from the thigh on down.

This would certainly be an option for you if you already own some pants that you otherwise like or you find some you like but want them to be a little trimmer. If not, friends have told me that Banana Republic carries trim fitting pants.

Cruiser

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Joel, an adequate alterations tailor can slim most pant legs down with ease for around $20-$30. i find it easier to get a pant I like, and then have my guy slim it down, rather than search high and low for the "perfect pant".

And welcome!
Thanks for the welcome. I have tried this route but it gets very expensive. Will try Brooks Brothers, as was suggested by another poster. There is a factory outlet over in Vermont I may try to get to one of these days and see what they have. Thanks again.

·