Men's Clothing Forums banner
1 - 20 of 54 Posts

·
Registered
147 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is inspired by my day of shopping for sweaters (looking for a Christmas present). All the higher end discount stores I've ever been to always have an abundance of L and XL (even XXL) stuff, and a dearth of S and M stuff. Actually, now that I think about it, this is true in all stores in general. This seems like a sign that companies are consistently over-producing items in these sizes. Why do they keep on doing this? It can't be that there are so few people that would buy S and M...

·
Registered
2,865 Posts
The make so much L and XL stuff because that's what sells. I think it's due to three factors:

• People are getting bigger.
  • People are wearing their clothes larger.
  • People who are buying clothes as gifts err on the side of roominess. A too-large garment can be tolerated, but a too-small garment is uncomfortable.
When I worked in retail many years ago, we'd get a shipment of sweaters, and it might contain one Small, two Medium, five Large, three XL, and one XXL. Unless you're buying it for yourself and you've tried them on, you'd probably never trust that a Small or Medium isn't cut too small.

·
Registered
1,281 Posts
This is inspired by my day of shopping for sweaters (looking for a Christmas present). All the higher end discount stores I've ever been to always have an abundance of L and XL (even XXL) stuff, and a dearth of S and M stuff. Actually, now that I think about it, this is true in all stores in general. This seems like a sign that companies are consistently over-producing items in these sizes. Why do they keep on doing this? It can't be that there are so few people that would buy S and M...
.....because we're getting larger.

·
Registered
147 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
The make so much L and XL stuff because that's what sells. I think it's due to three factors:

• People are getting bigger.
  • People are wearing their clothes larger.