Men's Clothing Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

· Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
In terms of understanding fashion and items that match, I'm a novice. I just started "worrying" about my wardrobe recently and this forum has been great. For my suit, I originally just had two white and one light blue dress shirts, but I recently bought the following shirt:

(Please spare the comments on the quality of the shirt - I'm a broke college kid, and it's hard enough to find slim-fit shirts offered in 15 34/35!)

First, is this shirt okay to wear with a charcoal suit? I assume it is since it's primarily light blue and not too busy, but some reassuring is always good.

Second, what are some ties that would match this shirt? I'm working on expanding my tie collection, so in addition to just descriptions, links to specific ties would also be welcome as I'll likely be making some purchases (and if they're too expensive, at least I'll have a visual idea of what works).

I appreciate any suggestions!

· Registered
637 Posts
Yes you can wear it with a grey suit of any shade.

It's pretty plain so any plain tie of contrasting colour (not blue). Maroon, red, silver. Or any large spot. Or a big pattern - not small because the stripes are relatively close together and thin. Patterns should contrast. Great first choice.

· Registered
953 Posts
OF COURSE you can wear it with a charcoal suit. I can't think of a single color or patters you couldn't wear with a charcoal suit.

It's pretty plain so any plain tie of contrasting colour (not blue). Maroon, red, silver. Or any large spot. Or a big pattern - not small because the stripes are relatively close together and thin. Patterns should contrast. Great first choice.
Actually I think any plain tie will likely work on this shirt, including blue (esp. navy).