Men's Clothing Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
3,965 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Is anyone else feeling pessimistic about where the US economy could be headed? I've been wanting to buy a new house, but am worried about making such a big purchase if things do head further south. Heck, I was even thinking about getting a newer used car, but am afraid to make that purchase as well.

Some companies in the area have already laid off workers, some of my friends have lost their jobs which makes me a little worried for my own job. I work in sales and almost everyone I talk to says how bad things are no matter what part of the country. Anyway, I'm just wondered who else is holding off on big purchases until this blows over?

Brian

·
Registered
1,132 Posts
Brian,

I certainly share your worries although I try to be optimistic anyway, perhaps hoping to exercise that distinctly American trait under any circumstances. I spend most of the time in California and South Carolina and while California's housing market continues to be full of extremes, even here all areas are being hit by falling values. My last visit to South Carolina brought a lot of surprises. Even folks looking to sell their stunning vacation homes right on the beach have taken them off the market because no one is buying. Not even foreign investors as they feel prices have a ways to go down before they'll purchase.

All of my business colleagues are seeing the same things you are. All industries in all areas (with the exceptions out here of solar and biotech) are either cutting back or laying off people. Where I work we were lucky to have sold a bunch of low-performing assets several years ago and run things lean and quick but even now we're seeing a sharp decline in business from our long-time clients.