Men's Clothing Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
27,626 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I have some experience with high quality summer dress shirt fabrics such as cotton lawn and cotton batiste and have found both excellent with some limitations. (See through.) But I have an old, cheap camp shirt from L L Bean that's made of 50/50 linen and cotton. The properties of this fabric are remarkable considering its constituents.

It is cooler than all cotton, and possibly even cooler than linen, but wrinkles less that either. Of course, the fabric in this shirt is comparatively crudely spun and woven.

Today I came across a couple shirts be Parisian bespoke shirt maker Daniel Levy that are also linen and cotton, though the percentage of each is not specified. It looks as fine as the best poplin/broadcloth. The caption describes it as cotton and linen zephyr. Whether zephyr is intended as a purely descriptive term, or is in fact a mill's brand name, I do not know. But if it shares the qualities of my cheap camp shirt I would have to think it an excellent summer dress shirt fabric.

Outerwear Shirt Dress shirt Purple Sleeve

Wood Sleeve Textile Dress shirt Collar

·
(aka TKI67)
3,185 Posts
I like heavy oxford cloth, like a Mercer OCBD, cut baggy. It is surprisingly breathable, stays more or less away from body and arms, and can stand up to humidity, even with a tie. For less dressy, like right now in a comfy chair, I like loose linen camp shirts or madras with the tails out, the sleeves rolled up, and two buttons undone on the top and one on the bottom. They are cooler than anything else I know of. The traditional shirts like batiste or broadcloth quickly become damp and unhappy in Texas weather.

·
Premium Member
6,163 Posts
I have some experience with high quality summer dress shirt fabrics such as cotton lawn and cotton batiste and have found both excellent with some limitations.