Men's Clothing Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ps. Long time lurker, first time joiner....

I'm a university law student who is going to be working in a job this summer where I will spend a fair amount of time in court. I have the obligatory dark wool suits I've been wearing to court appearances all winter, but I'm curious if it would be appropriate to make my summer wardrobe more 'summery.' I was considering picking up a light weight Khaki Cotton, or grey Linen suit.
Do you think that in summer the months such things are acceptable in a courtroom, or should I play it safe and stick to navy and dark grey wools?

·
Registered
2,689 Posts
If you want to stick to the conservative look, you can go for a wool suit in a light cloth.
Other options:
- cotton suit or something with wool and cotton.
- linen but you can get a mixture of cotton and linen or wool, silk and linen.
- 100% linen

Then you have the colour options, you could go conservative and get a light grey suit or colours like tan, khaki, beige, etc.

As you are in the courtroom, my suggestion would be a conservative suit in light wool cloth (8 or 9oz) in light grey shade.

·
Registered
439 Posts
I would also take your cues from those above you in an environment like a law firm.
I have no idea what proper dress is in Canadian courts. Thus, the answer quoted above is the best advice I can give too.

It's not clear to me if you're working for a law firm, or the court/judge, etc. In any event, in addition to asking now, you can probably wear your winter suits for the first week while you look around and see what else might be appropriate.

·
Registered
2,538 Posts