Men's Clothing Forums banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

· Registered
1,366 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I have been a poor student until recently and never needed or could afford a good sports jacket. Now that I have finished school and started working, time has come to get a good one ... Can you learned folks give me suggestions for a traditional, proper fitting sport jacket? I am willing to spend upto $200. Are there specific brands/models I should be looking at?

Please excuse me if this has been covered before.

· Registered
5,943 Posts
If you're not averse to it, I would strongly suggest that you try to find a Harris tweed (any maker!) in a thrift store. These are *very* cheap, werar like iron, and are a great place to start for someone experimenting with their trad. style.

However, since you're in Florida, it might be more practical to go for a lightweight navy blazer. Here, I would recommend Brooks, whose blazers can be found on ebay pretty cheaply. (About $50 for a very nice 3/2 wool sack.) You could also check out the thrift exchange. If you're a 44R a lovely Gieves and Hawkes blazer will be going up there shortly--a steal at $45 shipped! :icon_smile_wink:

· Registered
1,387 Posts
^
I agree that a navy blazer is about your only option for a first jacket. You can find these all over the place but $200 will limit you a bit. Maybe consider spending a bit more and getting a BB sack blazer on sale? If you are looking for trad do a search on eBay and other site for a BB "University" blazer. This was a recent sack offering that many AAAT members purchased and speak well of - I believe you could find an unworn example for $300 or so. I think it was on clearance at BB for about $325 not long ago...

· Registered
1,994 Posts