Men's Clothing Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

· Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello friends,

I am new to this forum, but have been lurking for a few months. I would humbly like to consult the collective wisdom of this community for assistance.

I am a 31 year old writer and have recently moved to Los Angeles. Like many in my field, I kick it casual in t-shirts and jeans with a pair of sneakers to round out the slacker uniform.

Recently I suited up for a meeting to accept a new job. The suit was OTR, but fit well and I splurged on a MTM shirt.

As far as shirts go, there is no going back. A garment made to fit my measurements not only makes sense, but paying a craftsman is a rewarding experience. The difference in comfort was also incredible.

What surprised me most however was how differently people treated me. Not that they are rude to me when I am not dressed up, but by me doing so, it actually seemed to brighten the mood of those I walked by.

Which led me to ask the question. If I feel more comfortable, look better, and have greater power to please - why am I still dressing like a man child?

So here I am, about to build a wardrobe for the first time, and I am wondering where to start.

I am thinking of starting with MTM/Bespoke shirts, OTR slacks and a few good pairs of dress/casual shoes. (Like the Alden Cordovan Wingtip High Lace Boot #8)

After I ease everyone into my more manly way of dressing - I think I will start to throw in dress shoes, bespoke blazers and a few suits.

I figure I will fill out my wardrobe and slowly, over time start to rotate in more suits.

I am not a wealthy man, so I will have to buy a few pieces at a time but have no problem spending money on quality goods that last.