Men's Clothing Forums banner
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
653 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Our venerable @upr_crust has with his immaculate taste and dress sparked an interest. I had been considering trying out the use of a collar pin and bar and have decided to give it a whirl. I know I can wear the pin with any shirt having a cooperative collar (non spread), but would like a few shirts that already have the eyelets in them as well for use with the bar. Does anyone know a good source for these? I found one shirt in a regular/fuller cut OTR in my size (17.5 37) and ordered it from Paul Frederick. I have no experience with the company but from researching past postings they are of reasonable quality and at or just bellow Charles Tyrwhitt. I know Brooks Brothers used to carry them about 5 years ago but cannot seem to find them currently on their website. Any help or tips would be greatly appreciated gentleman. A sub $150 price point would be preferred and I am willing to do a MTM but was looking for most instant gratification (OTR) lol. Thank you fellas again for your time.

·
Registered
7,022 Posts
It has been my experience that, for RTW eyelet collar shirts, the only consistent supplier of such shirts would be Paul Fredrick, whose shirts I've worn in the past, and they're acceptable, but not that great.

For myself, I've had a number of eyelet collar shirts made at Brooks Brothers for me, as I like both eyelet collars and French a.k.a. double cuffs, a combination rarer than hens' teeth in the RTW world, though at a price point a bit above your stated upper limit, Jgarner.

I will try to wear an eyelet collar shirt (MTM from BB) with my attire for tomorrow, so that you can see the results.

·
Registered
653 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
It has been my experience that, for RTW eyelet collar shirts, the only consistent supplier of such shirts would be Paul Fredrick, whose shirts I've worn in the past, and they're acceptable, but not that great.