Men's Clothing Forums banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
242 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As my moniker suggests, I am a law student in Arizona. Generally, I would like peoples' opinions on the social reputation of attorneys, in general, in specific, and what one can do to improve that reputation. The rest here is a bit of background that might lend some background to my questions.

During my undergraduate work, I got a job at a small tax and transactional law firm digitizing their old files. Upon graduation, I'd been accepted into Queen Mary University of London to pursue my PhD in French History. Très classe. Well, the senior partner figured out that I wasn't stupid, so he turned me into a law clerk, and about a month later I applied to the Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law at Arizona State University and was admitted. I applied because, honestly, I really enjoyed the lawyerly work. Perhaps because of my undergraduate work in 18th century French history, I'm rather sensitive to issues of social standing and reputation. And, I hear a good bit of gentle chiding from people when they hear I'm in law school ("oh, not another lawyer!").

Of course, I might just be drinking the kool-aid, but Western society has had lawyers since Antiquity. For whatever reason, we haven't really been able to shake ourselves of them, despite an astounding ability to kill kings, dictators, religious and ethnic minorities, etc...

Any thoughts, gentlemen?

·
Registered
3,297 Posts
De Toqueville said that, in America, lawyers were the closest thing to a natural aristocracy. For what it's worth.

·
Registered
4,169 Posts
Interesting question. It appears that lawyers in the abstract suffer from a bad reputation in the United States. As evidence, witness the proliferation of lawyer jokes, or the misuse of the Shakespeare line, "First thing we do, let's kill all the lawyers."

I think this negative opinion is a greater discredit to society than to lawyers.