Men's Clothing Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1,449 Posts
I have a blue blazer with that tag. It is a 346 of unknown age (thrifted). The "Authentic" struck me as odd, too. I am no expert on the subject, but I doubt that there is much counterfeit BB around.

·
Registered
1,449 Posts
It could go either way, but I lean toward it being an older item. Like I wrote, I thrifted it. It was a thrift shop which has an older constituency and I bought it along with a khaki cotton Brooks Brothers suit which I think is an older item.

·
Registered
478 Posts
I remember that label.
After many years of labeling its various lines by the quality of the suit, i.e., "Own Make," "346," "Brooks University" (a/k/a "Brooksgate"), for a few years in the early 80s, Brooks labeled its lines by the "cut," that is it used the terms "Authentic," "Classic," etc. I am not sure, but I think "Authentic" was a 3-button sack, "Classic" was a darted 2-button, etc. It is now doing that again, with its "Regent," "Madison," etc. lines denoting slimmer and fuller cuts.

·
Registered
1,567 Posts
I remember that label.
After many years of labeling its various lines by the quality of the suit, i.e., "Own Make," "346," "Brooks University" (a/k/a "Brooksgate"), for a few years in the early 80s, Brooks labeled its lines by the "cut," that is it used the terms "Authentic," "Classic," etc. I am not sure, but I think "Authentic" was a 3-button sack, "Classic" was a darted 2-button, etc. It is now doing that again, with its "Regent," "Madison," etc. lines denoting slimmer and fuller cuts.
Ken is correct but I believe the vintage is probably about 1995-1996. That was during the time Bill Roberti was the CEO and just before the Joe Gromek group tried to morph BB into Banana Repulic. I'm sure I have some of the ads in my archives my they're pretty well buried right now.

·
Registered
41 Posts
YIKES!