Men's Clothing Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a grad student just starting to build my professional wardrobe and recently took some suits to a tailor that was recommended by numerous people on this site. Since this is my first time having a suit tailored, I was wondering how long should it take someone to check you out in your suit and make the necessary notes on what to do? I only ask because it seemed like the tailor (who was filling in for the regular guy who was on vacation) did it pretty quick. I'm not sure if it's because he's really good, it's a simple job, or that he just wasn't that concerned about it. I've read that this shop is very picky but I wasn't really asked a single question, told what was going to be done or anything else that would give me the impression that they were being picky with fitting it to me. Also, if I go back and pick up the suit and am not satisfied, is it reasonable to ask that additional change be made? Also, just so I know for future reference, what is a reasonable price for having a suit tailored? Thanks for the help.

·
Connoisseur
5,988 Posts
It takes me much longer to put the suit, pants, shirt, whatever, on than it does my tailor to mark the things for alteration. It amazes me at times how quickly he can do this.

I try the garment on when I pick it up and if I'm not completely satisfied with some aspect of the alterations he marks it again and makes the adjustments for no additional charge, unless of course he did something that I specifically asked him to do and now I don't like it for some reason. In that case I pay him for the additional alterations.