Men's Clothing Forums banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
225 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am thinking about purchasing a Homburg style hat. I already own a brown fedora and I think that it is a little too casual to be worn all the time. Would a Homburg be considered more formal? Is a homburg a good style to go with for my 2nd hat purchase?
I am a rookie when it comes to chapeaus and any insight you gentlemen can offer would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
164 Posts
I am partial to fedoras to wear with business suits. Some colors look more formal than others, black looking the most formal, and medium brown having the ability to look both business-like and adventuresome.

A homburg is clearly more formal. I have a gray one that I wear with a gray herringbone chesterfield coat when wearing black tie. Do make sure you go to a good hatter and try them on. The fedoras look good on me with the front brim snapped down, and not so good in the up position. A homburg's brim has a finished edge and sweeps upwards. It took me a while to find one with "enough brim" to go with my face shape and broad shoulders.

Bowlers and derbys are also seen as more formal than fedoras, but, again be sure to try them on before buying. They are not for everyone.

If you are trying to go slightly more formal than your fedora, to wear with a business suit,try fedoras with darker colors and a black hat band, especially a black fedora with a black hat band. Also make sure your fedoras are made of fur felt, not wool.

Good luck and enjoy. I would love to see the fedora become, once again, standard dress for men. I am doing my best by wearing one every day.

·
Super Moderator
27,866 Posts