Men's Clothing Forums banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I am rather new to men's fashion as it were and am just starting my professional career so I am looking to buy my first suit(s) and some good quality dress shirts. I did some searching on the forums but thought I may as well post.

In what I am looking for in my wardrobe:

First off, I am severely limited in regards to money I have to spend on my clothing, I can do $80 USD a shirt and about $350 USD a suit. I imagine this limits me tremendously, but it may make it easier to point me in the right direction, I simply can't commission a tailor to make me a suit for several thousand dollars.

I have been the "menswear" stores in Canada such as Moores and Tiptop tailors and simply hate the garbage they sell.

I have purchased a few dress shirts off of ebay, two Ike Behar, one Talbott and one that said Maxxim but is quite nice. I like these shirts quite a lot, they may be only mid-level (I don't really know) but these are the type I am looking for.

I like the idea of MTM because I have large shoulders and long arms for my waist and often shirts don't fit well. (Too loose around the body if my arms and shoulders fit, even with tall sizes)

I was considering Maxwell Clothiers in HK

https://www.maxwellsclothiers.com/

but I did a search on the forums and most everyone was unimpressed with them. What can you guys suggest as far as retailers or brands?

Also I live in BC, Canada so anything local would be helpful.

Thank you in advance for assisting a neophyte like me!

·
Registered
1,331 Posts
Go to Harry Rosen if you hate Moores and TipTop. I think there is one in Vancouver. I know there are HRs in Edmonton and Calgary I personally buy most of my suits online for similar costs as Moores but with better quality. I'm not afraid to buy used if it can be tailored.