Men's Clothing Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
105 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I'm getting three new suits: a Canali medium-dark (not Navy) blue birdseye (from FB) and two BB 1818's (2-for-$998). One 1818 is a solid Navy; the other will be charcoal gray to replace my current "go to" charcoal gray suit, which I'm retiring from my rotation.

Initially, I assumed I would get a charcoal gray solid. The BB salesman, however, has suggested that I consider a subtle charcoal gray herringbone (although the link is to a brown herringbone, he trying to bring a charcoal gray one in from another store), or sharkskin.

I've received conflicting opinions whether a subbtle herringbone or sharksin can substitute for a solid charcoal gray. I am a lawyer in public service. Unlike our brothers at the big firms, Firday is our only "business casual" day, and even then it's optional.

What do people think, and why?

·
Registered
356 Posts
I personally think a nice small scale herringbone is richer and has more depth than a solid charcoal. Either the picture is not doing that herribone justice, or it is not woven in a way that appeals to me. Overall I would suggest a herringbone, and hopefully the charcoal looks better in person.

·
Registered
97 Posts
The charcoal gray is a must have in a men's wardrobe. If you already have a charcoal gray suit, then the small herringbone pattern is a great choice. Personally I really like the herringbone pattern suit you mentioned. It has more depth and will be a very elegant alternative to the solid charcoal gray suit. It is less boring, and from a fashion standpoint much more interesting without being flashy. Looking at the suit and the sale you mentioned makes me want to get 2 new suits too!!! :icon_smile:

·
Registered
8,536 Posts