Men's Clothing Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

· Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to buying these name brand fabrics, but since buying a Charles Clayton and VBC, I won't buy anything less. They are just an amazing difference in the lower end fabrics in look and feel. Never did I realize it was all in the fabric.

Anyway, I live in Japan and get my suits from a local tailor shop. The basic cheap fabric runs about 30,000 JPY (300$). However, they have the nicer fabrics as well. I saw a beautiful looking dark grey (slight shine) Loro Piana. Sticker price for that fabric (which includes the cost of making the suit obviously) is 100,000 JPY, however he said he will give me it at a discounted price of 80,000 JPY (800 USD).

Would this be considered appropriately priced or higher/lower than what others on this forum would pay for such a suit. These suits are MTM, however since I basically customize every inch of the jacket and pants, I'm not too sure what the real difference is between bespoke and MTM.

Anyway, just trying to understand if I am getting a good deal on the price or not.

· Super Moderator
27,866 Posts
I'm new to buying these name brand fabrics, but since buying a Charles Clayton and VBC, I won't buy anything less. They are just an amazing difference in the lower end fabrics in look and feel. Never did I realize it was all in the fabric.

Anyway, I live in Japan and get my suits from a local tailor shop. The basic cheap fabric runs about 30,000 JPY (300$). However, they have the nicer fabrics as well. I saw a beautiful looking dark grey (slight shine) Loro Piana. Sticker price for that fabric (which includes the cost of making the suit obviously) is 100,000 JPY, however he said he will give me it at a discounted price of 80,000 JPY (800 USD).