Men's Clothing Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
3,258 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Lehman goes bankrupt and Merrill Lynch is sold to BOA (https://www.msnbc.msn.com/). AIG is in serious trouble, though they are said to have sufficient liquidity to weather a storm. As painful as this grim news is (especially for the people who will lose their jobs), my gut tells me it's a long-overdue market correction and a winnowing of the herd. I tend to agree with what Jim Cramer said this morning; once the dust settles, we'll end up with a smaller and stronger market.

I am by no means an expert on these matters, but I know several on the fora are. Can all of this be pinned on the mortgage crisis, weak dollar or another factor? I am curious as to what AAAC members think about the news.

·
Registered
458 Posts
Sorry, I didnt see your post, so I wrote a similar one. Personally, I think that a number of bancrupcies will follow. The US situation is somewhat similar to the Swedish one in 1992. As a consequence, the state opened a so called "bank emergency" that was putting money into the banking system.
Some banks were taken over by the state in order to rescue them. Most of them are however privatized by now.

·
Registered
1,551 Posts
I truly hope that the US government doesn't not take control of these banks. I hate the idea of socializing all these failing companies like Freddie and Fannie. If they can't sustain themselves then they should be allowed to fail. I think that same applies to the auto industry, if they can get a low rate loan then good for them, but they should not be given a hand out from the tax payers to keep them from failing. I love the free market system and it works well for a reason.

·
Registered
3,258 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·