Men's Clothing Forums banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok I'm a total newbie so don't yell at me yet!

I only started to notice the difference between flimsy thin ties and nice thick quality ones. I always thought there were two different types, the polyester type, and the silk type. lol.

So I am guessing a 7-folded tie is pretty good? Any other guide lines?

·
Registered
2,865 Posts

I only started to notice the difference between flimsy thin ties and nice thick quality ones. I always thought there were two different types, the polyester type, and the silk type. lol.

There are also wool and linen ties. :)

·
Registered
2,603 Posts

I've seen some cheap 7-fold ties before.

First, try holding the tie from one end to see if it hangs straight (without twisting). If it does, that means it is cut along the bias (a good thing).

Also, look at the back and unfold the fabric a bit, if you see a slip-stitch (a small thread with a loop hanging down) that is another indication of a quality tie.

If I like the pattern, and the tie isn't a piece of junk, I'll buy it. I get plenty of positive comments on no-name brand ties - probably more than I do on my Talbott ties.

·
Registered
1,876 Posts
In many cases, price can be a pretty good differentiator of quality. In other words, don't expect to buy top quality when you spend $50 on the Daniel Cremieux special at Dillards. There are exceptions of course, as very good quality ties can be had from time to time at places like Neiman Marcus Last Call or Filene's Basement.

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
In many cases, price can be a pretty good differentiator of quality. In other words, don't expect to buy top quality when you spend $50 on the Daniel Cremieux special at Dillards. There are exceptions of course, as very good quality ties can be had from time to time at places like Neiman Marcus Last Call or Filene's Basement.