Men's Clothing Forums banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
ok I'm new to the details of fine ties. When I've bought 7 fold ties in the past the most obvious clue to their construction was always that the lining was the tie material. Is this a rule of thumb?
I just bought an ike behar at Nordstrom on sale for $30. The lining matches the tie but I'm not sure ike makes a 7 fold? Can anyone share some other clues or tests? Thanks

·
Registered
3,297 Posts
Here is an example of what to look for.

·
Registered
279 Posts
ok I'm new to the details of fine ties. When I've bought 7 fold ties in the past the most obvious clue to their construction was always that the lining was the tie material. Is this a rule of thumb?
I just bought an ike behar at Nordstrom on sale for $30. The lining matches the tie but I'm not sure ike makes a 7 fold? Can anyone share some other clues or tests? Thanks
Do not confuse self-tipping with being of 7-fold construction. Finer ties use self-tipping and self-looping. Many Ike Behar ties are constructed this way but they are not 7-fold. They have an interlining of wool to provide thickness. Seven-fold ties are completely constructed of the tie material with no wool interlining. You would not be able to buy a true 7-fold for $30. The minimum would probably be 220-250. I believe Nordstroms sells RT 7's for around 250.

·
Registered
188 Posts
You would not be able to buy a true 7-fold for $30. The minimum would probably be 220-250. I believe Nordstroms sells RT 7's for around 250.
I bought a "true" 7 fold tie for $35 at the marshalls in jersey garden mall.:icon_smile_big:
As for Ike behar I dont think that they make 7 folds and if they made them Nordstrom wouldnt sell them for $30. What you bought is just a self tipping tie and you could have got that Ike Behar at Nordstrom Rack for $19, I've seen a lot of them plus Zegnas both ties and shoes as well as goodyear Canali shoes.

·
Registered
35 Posts