Men's Clothing Forums banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,
I just received this MTM shirt from mytailor.com. I'm pretty new to all of this so I'd like to get some expert opinion on how this fits before I commit to a more expensive fabric.

I've already washed and pressed the shirt (although poorly done:icon_smile:)

I feel that the sleeves are a bit wide and the shirt is a bit long? How long are dress shirts suppose to be? Also, it fits quite close around the hips, is this a good idea? Overall, I'm quite happy with how this turned out. Finish and quality is not on par with say name brand shirts, but for the price, I think it's fair.

Thanks for all the advice!!

·
Banned
16,023 Posts
Cuffs do appear a bit wide, but I'd give it a couple more washes and see how it goes. After that, talk to them about it.

I think I read somewhere that a closer fit on the hips will help it not ride up during the day. Let's see it tucked in!

·
Registered
103 Posts
Looks like the sleeves should be an inch shorter and the collar should be a little larger. The sleeves look like my old shirts that I normally used to buy at the department stores until I was measured and told that I needed a 32 and not a 33 that was my usual choice. Of course now I have a better fitted shirt. But that collar looks tight.

·
Banned
16,023 Posts
I think the sleeves are fine -- they have to be long enough to not expose much forearm when he moves.

Which collar shape is that?

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 · (Edited)
Mytailor calls it "Traditional Spread", I had it made slightly smaller than typical ones, 2.875 X 1.625 I believe.

I did tell them to make the sleeves narrower but I guess it was too much work for them. The left cuff was made slightly larger than the right one to accommodate for watches, although I'm not wearing one in the picture.

Thanks for the advice so far!

·
Registered
1,777 Posts