Men's Clothing Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am about to spend $4k on suits, sport jackets, and trousers, and I want to make sure I'm not making a horrible mistake. Obviously, for this money, this is through one of the cheap clothing dealers online (Studio Suits). Yes, I know you usually get what you pay for, but since I am a writer and not working in an environment where I need to wow people with a $5000 suit (or even $1000), I am hoping the quality of this company will be good enough for my purposes (fit-wise, I plan to see a tailor afterwards for as many times as it takes). Basically, I want to look fairly sharp all the time (think Ryan Gosling's character in La La Land), but since most of the general public does not have the eye to notice the expensive differences, I don't want to spend a lot.

Below is what I am told my jackets and trousers would be made from. If you would be so kind, I would appreciate any warnings to stay clear from any of them. ALL jackets are currently with Bemberg lining.

Suits: 2 with 100% wool; 1 with 80% wool, 20% cashmere; 1 with 100% linen (an all-white suit I'll rarely wear, probably more suitable for something like a Gatsby event)

Sport jackets: 1 with 100% wool; 1 with 80% wool, 20% cotton; 1 with 90% wool and an unspecified percentage of micro rayon; 1 Glasgow tweed; 1 Pisa blue feather tweed

Trousers: 4 with 100% wool; 1 that is only described as "Napolean Melange Khaki Wool".

I appreciate your time!

·
Registered
6,593 Posts
Not regarding the quality, but fit.

Do not buy all those items at once. If you are going with Studio Suits, try one item first and get the fit correct. This will also allow you to get an idea of the type of materials they use.

I have a pair of trousers, one sports coat and a shirt from Studio Suits. The trousers and shirt were purchased first, then the sports coat.