Men's Clothing Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
92 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello

So it’s been a little over a year since I’ve become more insistent on being well dressed and well fitted. Thank you forum!!

After taking jackets, shirts, jeans, chinos and dress pants to my tailor, I’ve begun the process of “minor” alterations. I am a physician and do a lot of procedural work on patients (requires a lot of accuracy and precision).

So first of all I had my wife show me how to use her sewing machine. Then I went to YouTube and learned how to hem a pair of chinos and dress pants. I finally moved up to shortening/ lengthening sleeves on my jackets. Today I shortened the length of a blazer by 3/4 of an inch. I must say it’s pretty comparable to my tailor’s work and sometimes even better.

I was curious if anybody else on this forum has attempted alterations and if so.......their experiences/ recommendations/ thoughts, etc...

Thanks

·
Registered
384 Posts
At the age of 13 I borrowed my mother's sewing machine, in secret, to alter two pairs of jeans she had bought me. They had flares, which were no longer in vouge and could therefore not be worn without inviting ridicule. Removing them went surprisingly well and I cannot recall being hounded by bullies as a result.

Since then it's been button swaps and the very occasional leg length adjustment only.

·
Suspended
10,801 Posts
Back in the far off halcyon days of my youth I altered/customised much of my clothing to permit appeal within the teenage faction to which I subscribed. All of which was handwork for there was no sewing machine around the place.

Latterly repairs are more my metier. Though I say it myself, I am something of a dab hand with a needle and thread. Rather foolshly I neglected to take a 'before' pic of a Donegal tweed that I reweaved recently in order that I might have shared the reults with the membership.

·
Connoisseur/Curmudgeon Emeritus - Moderator
37,088 Posts