Men's Clothing Forums banner
1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
5,152 Posts
I won't bore you with equestrian lore, but hack is from an old french word refering to horses rented for riding. So think rental cars and clothing reflecting needs while traveling.
They will 'hack it' for everything a sports coat 'sports' in.

·
Registered
267 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I won't bore you with equestrian lore, but hack is from an old french word refering to horses rented for riding. So think rental cars and clothing reflecting needs while traveling.
They will 'hack it' for everything a sports coat 'sports' in.
Thanks. I wonder if that's where a hackney license for taxicabs comes from.

What's the relationship between a hacking jacket and a shooting jacket?

·
Registered
2,396 Posts
If I am correct, and I am not an expert by any stretch, a Hacking jacket was designed with slanted pockets so the person wearing it could access the pockets easier while on horseback to load his shotgun with the shells stored in the pockets of the jacket.

A shooting jacket has pockets with more of a patch flap style that have extra material in order to store shells.

·
Registered
267 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
If I am correct, and I am not an expert by any stretch, a Hacking jacket was designed with slanted pockets so the person wearing it could access the pockets easier while on horseback to load his shotgun with the shells stored in the pockets of the jacket.

A shooting jacket has pockets with more of a patch flap style that have extra material in order to store shells.
I think I read that somewhere here as well.

I know that deer hunting on horseback (as opposed to stalking) was outlawed in England in 2005 I think, but is still allowed in Ireland. Is there any other kind of hunting/stalking still permitted on horseback? If not, it will be interesting to see if the fashion survives its purpose.

·
Registered
5,152 Posts