Men's Clothing Forums banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a college student. I discovered GAP's "perfect fitted shirts" a year ago:

https://www.gap.com/browse/product.do?cid=42839&pid=376872&scid=376872002

They have a nice weight, and as crazy as it sounds the fitted cut fits me and my spare tire(s) pretty comfortably. Being a student in a warm area, I like a shirt to be a bit more substantial since I generally don't wear a coat.

GAP's non-premium dress shirts look and feel cheap, so I've been sticking with the nice ones. But you can only get them in a few solid colors. I called them up and asked them what was different about the fabric and all I got was some line about "it is premium woven 2-ply fabric."

I've tried buying shirts online, and generally they don't have the right feel. I've found some shirts in nicer stores that feel the same - Nordstrom, BB, etc - but they tend to cost a fortune! Any suggestions on A.) how to better define the type of shirt I'm looking for and B.) where to find them? Thanks!!

·
Registered
289 Posts
You could do what I do and set aside a day to go shopping at Nordstrom, Saks, et al., politely decline pushy assistance from the commission-based salespeople, try stuff on and make a mental note of the size (or write it down when no one is looking), then buy it much cheaper on eBay. This works better for lesser-known brands of good quality (Ike Behar comes to mind) than it does for, say, Thomas Pink.