Men's Clothing Forums banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi Guys

This is my first post in the forum =)

I am fairly new to dressing stylish and I have spent many hours lurking these forums teaching myself about quality shoes. I'd like to collectively thank you for the knowledge and tips I have learnt along the way.

My first purchase was last week. A pair of Loake 1880 Aldwych oxfords in black, my primary office shoe. And although they are still a tad stiff as they are still being broken in, they are beautiful. Im really beginning to appreciate quality leather shoes. Very happy purchase!

However my post is really concerning a pair of Herring Shakespeares that I purchased over the Easter weekend. In the pictures they look beautiful and the product description gave me the impression they were impeccable. (Link to shoe: https://www.herringshoes.co.uk/herring/shakespeare_double-monk-shoes/tan-calf).

Though when I took delivery of them today, out of the box I noticed quite a few imperfections. It seems there was a slight scratch on one of them, and also the black ink/dye that they used to darken the edges seems to be applied sloppily and splashed on a bit. Also the elastic straps for the buckles seems to have tan ink/dye soaked into them.

My question is, is this what is expected of handmade shoes? Are they simply the imperfections that come with owning these types of shoes? OR is this definitely not acceptable and should be returned?

To be honest it is quite disappointing.

Please comment your thoughts and what you would do..

Thanks so much! (Pics attached)
Brown Liver Bag Leather jacket Tints and shades
Brown Luggage and bags Amber Bag Beige
Brown Luggage and bags Bag Amber Shoulder bag
Brown White Luggage and bags Amber Orange
Brown Automotive design Leather Peach Wood
Shoe Finger Nail Cosmetics Street fashion
Finger Wood Tints and shades Personal protective equipment Foot