Men's Clothing Forums banner
1 - 20 of 57 Posts

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi all,

I've posted in other forums, but I've not received much advice on this issue. This forum looks more oriented toward suits and tailoring, so I hope you'll be able to be of some help.

I'm in my early 20's, and I live in London. I am starting my own web development business in the beginning of next year, and will need some suitable clothing to meet with potential clients and other professionals.

As a new business owner, I'll have to keep costs low. So, until I build up some clientele, I'm going to need a relatively low-priced, but not cheap, suit. And some shoes.

I was thinking of investing in a pair of seconds Church's shoes, as they can basically last forever, from what I've heard, for £200. But if you've got comparable suggestions, for even less, I'm open ears.

Now for the suit. I visited the new Westfield shopping center on the weekend, and popped in a suit store to try some things on. I'm looking for a charcoal suit.

The salesman seemed more interested in selling me 3 suits for the price of 2, than whether the suits fit me, or were right for me. This will be my first suit, I don't know what a proper fitting suit is - so I declined to buy.

T. M. Lewin seems to do some nice stuff, at good prices. I want something around the £250-300 price range. Basically, spending £400-500 total, including the shoes.

Your recommendations would be most helpful. I'm wanting to convey a professional image. Thank you!

·
Registered
2,689 Posts
Wait until next month and get new pair Church's on sale.

This year I got Church's and Cheaney's on sale from the Holborn Church's shop. The former was half price for £100 and the latter 25% off (down to £150).

In my opinion, if you are getting shoes from Church's you will not be doing it justice by wear a Lewin suit.