Men's Clothing Forums banner
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Connoisseur
5,988 Posts
I have had at least one corduroy sport coat in my closet since the late 60's; however, for the past 25 years or so I have only used them for casual wear, usually with jeans. For example I went out to a local comedy club the other night and wore my wheat colored corduroy jacket with a blue OCBD shirt and a nice pair of jeans. Turns out that I was one of the more smartly dressed guys in the club.

Cruiser

·
Registered
92 Posts
I'm new to this sort of thing, but I have a casual brown cord sports coat that I wear with dark blue jeans and button-down shirts, and I receive positive comments from people on the outfit. In addition, I think it looks nice, as does my wife, so take that for what it's worth.

That said, I'm not sold on velvet as a material that I would want to wear on any occasion, but having never tried it, I will refrain from passing judgement.

·
Registered
2,219 Posts
Corduroy is fine for casual wear .... I don't like it with jeans,

but I never wear jeans except to work in around the house. Velvet dinner jackets are not for me, but if you do wear one, I think it should be worn in the evening in your home, with or without guests. To attend a formal affair in a velvet diner jacket is, well I don't think it is done, except in 1973 with a shirt with lace cuffs at a high school prom.

·
Registered
1,346 Posts
I have a dark olive cord sportcoat that I wear any time of the day, it is quite versatile. It looks great with khakis or jeans. I don't have a velvet one, but wouldn't mind it as a gift either. I'd probably only wear velvet during the evening. Don't listen to these fools who say both are somehow inferior pieces.

·
Registered
2,538 Posts
Petting zoo?

Actually, cord sport coats are a natural for the country, but one could wear them in town to outdoor events. They're usually warmer themselves, and look good with sweaters for more warmth. A dressier look than a stout jacket.