Men's Clothing Forums banner
1 - 20 of 65 Posts

·
Registered
233 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Brooks Has Killed The Iconic Oxford (And maybe the brand in the process)
I have been wearing BB Oxford shirts for over 20 years. My father wore them too. I am beside myself that they no longer have the high quality, heavy fabric normal finish shirt with the pocket. Instead they only now carry a much lighter weight (and cheaper feeling) shirt without a pocket. They say it’s “getting back to roots”. But it seems much more like cheaping out for the sake of profit.
I have at least 10 each of blue and white and a many stripped as well and I buy a half dozen more every year or so. Over the last 5 or 6 years they have made a lot of changes in terms of labels and what they call the shirts and fits, but it has still always been the same shirt. This new shirt absolutely does not do it for me. Why could they not add this new cheap shirt and call it “back to roots”, but still keep the shirt that we have been wearing and loving for so many years?
I honestly don’t know what to do about this because I wear these shirts every other day or more. I won’t buy these new ones. I don’t like them.
I’m surprised no one else has commented on this (Or, at least I can’t find the comments). This is the most iconic item produced from an iconic American brand. It’s very sad to me.

·
Registered
5,808 Posts
If you look at old photographs and pics in Flusser's second book you'll see that the BB OCBDs used to be in a much thinner fabric than they have been for the past ten or fifteen years.

·
Super Moderator
3,213 Posts
Brooks Has Killed The Iconic Oxford (And maybe the brand in the process)
I have been wearing BB Oxford shirts for over 20 years. My father wore them too. I am beside myself that they no longer have the high quality, heavy fabric normal finish shirt with the pocket. Instead they only now carry a much lighter weight (and cheaper feeling) shirt without a pocket.