Men's Clothing Forums banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
3,182 Posts
Just saw Darkest Hour, this afternoon, loved it. I was wondering what the local Brits thought of it?
It was well done.

I have been a resident of Multnomah county for about 24 years. I am not proud to say I live in Multnomah county.

If I had it to do over again I would have been living in Oregon City for the past 24 years.

Welcome to AAAC and best regards,

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
It was well done.

I have been a resident of Multnomah county for about 24 years. I am not proud to say I live in Multnomah county.

If I had it to do over again I would have been living in Oregon City for the past 24 years.

Welcome to AAAC and best regards,
I figured NO body is going to know 'Multnomah', on this forum... My druthers would be Baker City...

·
Registered
3,325 Posts
Oddly enough, I was visiting Heidelberg when I first became aware of this film. I toyed with the idea of watching this film about the Nazis' arch-nemesis while there (presumably dubbed or subtitled in German) - it was an attractive plan - but sadly had too little time.
Eventually I saw it when it played at my village hall, and thought Oldman did a great job, but overall the film was rather disappointing, and in parts, such as Churchill's supposed vox populi tube-journey, complete hokum and almost embarrassing to watch. Some of the background stuff, involving Chamberlain and Halifax for instance, and King George, was well done.

·
Super Moderator
27,866 Posts
Your mention of Heidelberg put me in mind of the manner in which the Schloss appeared, as here captured, from a sidewalk table of a Gastatte at twilight when suddenly illuminated by its flood lights. The entire gigantic pile sprung into view appearing to levitate several hundred feet in the air.