Men's Clothing Forums banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
1,387 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Sorry to bring this topic up again. I promise that this post has a slightly different spin than most.

My father is rather well dressed; no forum type, but 10X better than your average schmuck circa 2009. When I graduated from college he advised that my first real clothing purchase should be a blazer and some charcoal gabs. We all understand the utilitarian premise he was driving at so there's no sense in discussing that. My question has to do with the choice of charcoal, rather than medium gray gabs.

Do you guys think charcoal lacks appropriate contrast to navy? Do you wear charcoal gabs with your blazers? Or do you insist upon a medium gray trouser for such a combo?

I have been wearing both charcoal and medium gray bags with my blazer for years now. For some reason, I seem to like that charcoal better than the medium gray - the medium gray looks too "security guard" for me sometimes. But I'm starting to think that many people might think that charcoal is too "matchy" with a navy jacket and might look like a bad attempt at a suit to some...

One of the reasons I am even bringing such a tired topic up is b/c I can't seem to find what I would consider the ideal answer: light charcoal gabs. It seems that most retailers and tailors (including my own current MTM tailor) don't stock a lot of gray gabardine that it in-between charcoal and medium gray.

Please weigh-in.

-Louche

·
Connoisseur
5,988 Posts
I'm of the opinion that not all "charcoal" is created equal. I have one pair of pants that were labeled as charcoal that, while dark, still contrast nicely with a navy blazer. They are closer in shade to what some call Oxford gray. I think that is what some mean when they say charcoal.