Men's Clothing Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I've worn my Loake's for about a week and have noticed a fair bit of wear. I've decided I'd like to get segs/or similar on the toe and heel.

Now when is the best time to get them? Shall i wait longer or get them put on now?

Also does metal or rubber make a difference? I'm a lawyer (trainee!) and our reception is tiled, I wouldn't like clients to hear "gunshots" as i strolled towards them! So i was thinking of using rubber?

Also I was also thinking of getting some rubber put on the sole, just to try and add some longevity to the shoe. But I'd like rubber just in the impact zones really.

Thoughts?

Thank you.

I'm thinking of going to James Taylor and Sons
https://www.taylormadeshoes.co.uk/location.htm

·
Registered
196 Posts
I always put them on my shoes before I first wear them, so I suggest ASAP.

If you're intending getting the soles refurbished by the manufacturers, they won't touch them you have put on a topy. I used to do this when I walked long distances, but now I just let them wear down. Are you wearing them every day? If so, they will wear out quickly, and they won't get time to breathe in between.

I'm sure James Taylor would do a good job, but it is something you can easily do yourself.

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
yes i am wearing them everyday - i put shoe trees in every night I get home, but they do get a bit of a walk round the city each day.

I am more likely to get them re-soled at a place like James Taylor to be honest.

·
Registered
2,689 Posts
If you wear shoes everyday, they will be 'wear' very quickly; bear in mind new shoes always 'wear' a lot the few times you have them on because the soles are smooth and they need friction.