Men's Clothing Forums banner
1 - 20 of 51 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, a newbie here, presently in need of some polo shirts.

Several months back I bought a few of the BB "vintage" series shirts and was fairly pleased with the cut and quality (and the fact that the fleece logo was dyed the same color as the shirt and thus nearly invisible), especially in comparison to BB's horrid flimsy offerings of 5-7 years ago. Since then I've lost some weight -- a happy thing -- and those shirts have gone from "a bit loose but comfortable" to "unwearably baggy". I need to move down a size.

When I went to buy replacements this past weekend, I discovered that apparently Brooks has discontinued that particular variant. The local 'outlet' store had only a few, and bb.com no longer lists them. I need an alternative.

Long story short, where do you gentlemen go for well-made classic mesh-type polo shirts these days? I would prefer to avoid anything with a contrasting-color logo if at all possible, and I am old-school enough to associate fabric weight with quality and thus prefer shirts on the heavier side. I am somewhat slim-framed and have decided I prefer a tailored (though obviously not skintight) look to a baggy one. Any recommendations?

·
Registered
1,346 Posts
My favorite is the Perlis crawfish polo. The funny part is if I go anywhere outside the south, everyone asks where I got my "lobster polo." Seeing that you are in New England, it may be worth looking into. Great price, great colors, and great quality. They do run about one size big.

·
Registered
4,130 Posts
www.jimmyandsook.com

Great shirts, wash them in warm water and dry the first time to shrink them a little.
I love Jimmy and Sook (a sister store of Khakis of Irvington), but at fifty bucks, I'm not sure their polos are the best value around. My vote would be for Lands' End.

·
Registered
17 Posts