Men's Clothing Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
247 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello.

I'm interested in buying a nice pair of business casual shoes for less than $200. Thanks to this forum, I became aware of the factory seconds available on the Allen Edmonds website. AE is especially attractive to me since, as recently confirmed on a Brannock, I'm a 9.5B width. Typically, my problem with even B width shoes is heel slippage. This is typically dealt with via a tongue pad. I believe I'm also quite flat-footed.

To gather some preliminary info, I went to the local Allen Edmonds shop and tried a pair of Strand shoes in 9.5B built on the 65 last. I have no prior experience with AE, and the fit was peculiar to me. There was significant extra room in the length of the shoe. Additionally, I found that in the back, the shoes extended too high and dug into my ankle bones. There was a bit of slipping in the heel, but not excessive. (I suspect that would resolve if the shoes were broken in.)

Can anyone recommend a better AE last/shoe for my type of foot?

Thank you very much.

rhz

·
Registered
177 Posts
All of them. No seriously. If you are willing to tolerate thier declining quality and high product variability they basically offer all models down to AAA. You can do as narrow as ever.

But to answer your question the 5 last is narrow.

·
Registered
662 Posts
The other issue you should consider is your instep. Mine is unusually high. I wear an E width, but even in a EE, I am unable to get even close to a closed vamp on an oxford. Consequently, I wear bluchers.

·
Registered
247 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
All of them. No seriously. If you are willing to tolerate thier declining quality and high product variability they basically offer all models down to AAA. You can do as narrow as ever.

But to answer your question the 5 last is narrow.