Men's Clothing Forums banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
388 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Unfortunately, I'm not able to afford some of the expensive suits that those here typically buy-- I'm only a modest Army officer. I would, however, like opinions on where to get the best conservative/traditional suit for around $800. I'm in the Washington D.C. area, but online sites would be greatly appreciated.

"Fortune favors the bold."

·
Registered
42 Posts
ebay

I'm building my young broke professional wardrobe from ebay and getting all my suits re-fitted by my tailor.

there are some good deals on ebay and alot of bad ones too. lots of old crap.

brooks brothers also has some great suits in that $800 range. use a combination of coupons and begging to get a good deal.

I am by no mean a professional stylist and my knowledge is based on Alan Fusser's Dressing the Man and Dress Smart: Men.

·
Registered
550 Posts
The Brethren -- Brooks Brothers -- certainly have some good suits in the $800 price range. Their 1818 line (with three distinct cuts: Madison, Fitzgerald, Regent) is in that neighborhood -- even lower during one of their fairly frequent sales. I'd suggest a visit to the Brooks Brothers store on Connecticut Avenue in DC -- very close to the Farragut North Metro stop although you can also walk easily from Dupont Circle or Farragut West. Alex and Joe in the tailored clothing department always give me outstanding service. And depending on your size, they have a fairly broad range of sizes.