Men's Clothing Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

· Registered
2,965 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This has come up in a different thread. I thought we could have a show of hands here.

So are you a student in classics? Do you have a degree, undergraduate or graduate, in classics?

I wrote my dissertation on Greek poetry and ancient literary scholarship. I publish mainly on early and Hellenistic Greek literature.

· Registered
105 Posts
Though no longer in the Classics, I received my BA in Classical Studies. I have turned to studying the literature and history of the Hellenistic Near East for my MA and PhD. I publish mostly concerning the history the history and literature of the Hasmonean kingdom of Judea.

· Registered
2,163 Posts
Nope. You could say I studied the things furthest from the classics. They simply do/did nothing for me. I dual majored in philosophy and English, so I am, of course, referring to those disciplines. I took many English lit courses, but I relish in creative writing on my free time. Each to their own and all that, but now that it's said and done, I quickly learned to avert classical philosophy and Shakespeare, and the likes, simply because drudging through all that stuff, to me, was like pulling teeth (with no pain killers). I actually found medieval English literature to be quite interesting. I learned how to read and speak middle English (would you know Shakespeare is really modern English?). I studied contemporary philosophy, especially third wave feminism and Western interpretations of Buddhism: Lacanian, Neitzschian and Derridean philosophies, philosophers troubled with the claim that time is universal and several obscure female philosophers. I guess you could say the last thing I am is an existentialist. I don't believe in a secular idea of existentialism. I identify as Roman Catholic. Nothing can shake my faith. I believe the only free will we "experience" is God-given, a gift from Him. Without God, there is no free-will, end of sto