Men's Clothing Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Honors Member and King Fop
6,031 Posts
I have no knowledge of this tailor, but, without wishing to be a snob, I have never, ever seen a "good" Hong-Kong suit - and I have seen many! The same goes for Thailand - only more so.
As many forumites know, I have been extremely happy with the many garments W.W. Chan of Kowloon has fabricated for me, but perhaps I simply lack your more refined sensibility.

·
Honors Member and King Fop
6,031 Posts
Last time I asked, starting prices for a two-piece suit from Vitale Barberis Canonico Super 120s or 130s were about $1,100. Around $1,500 for some of the better British wool cloths. Jackets from the better British fabric makers--Holland & Sherry, Porter & Harding, Scabal, Harrisons, Lesser, etc.--usually run between $900 and $1,000 these days.

·
Registered
199 Posts
I have no knowledge of W.W. Chan either and it may be, therefore, that JLibourel has somehow unearthed a satisfactory Hong-Kong tailor. All I know is that I have friends and colleagues who, over the last 25 years, have shown me their H-K purchases and they were wanting.

Now, more importantly, what is it precisely that makes you happy with W.W. Chan's wares? I take it, for example, that its coats are not "glued" and that they feature more hand-stitching than is usual? I'm interested to know.

·
Registered
1 Posts
Biemonte Wongs

Hi

I've had about 8 suits & numerous shirts made by Biemonte Wongs (Just Wongs Tailor until about 8 years ago) - not the cheapest tailor in Hong Kong, but definately one of the best. Still hand stitching, unlike most of the competition who use machines.

Highly recommended!

·
Registered
4,773 Posts
To date, Biemonte Wong has not been implicated in the plot to assassinate President Lincoln. Biemonte Wong was also not raised by wolves.

·
Registered
1,731 Posts