Hugo Boss shoes... worth it?

Discussion in 'Andy's Fashion Forum' started by aelsolutions, Aug 12, 2006.

1. aelsolutions

aelsolutions New Member

I was shoe shopping today and walked into a store that had a huge variety of Boss shoes. Some were very nice and caught my eye, but I'm no expert when it comes to brand/quality combinations.

Is Hugo Boss a good bet for dress shoes? Prices were in the $300 - $450 range, with some sale items at around $150 - $250.

Is this a good investment in a well-made pair of shoes that will last, or am I better off taking the money and purchasing some other brand? Is Boss a mediocre product with a high markup (thanks to brand equity) or is it of relatively high quality throughout all its products, including shoes?

Any advice is appreciated, thanks.
  2. pt4u67

pt4u67 Honors Member

No, no, no and again no!! For 150-250 you can find AE and if you act soon you can find some Alden shoes in that price range at shoemart.com. I would only consider HB shoes if they were well under $100 and even then perhaps wear them only with chinos or jeans.
  3. aelsolutions

aelsolutions New Member

Thanks for the heads up. I'll put a big X next to HB on my list of shoes. :icon_smile_big:

Can you name some other similarly priced brands that are of high quality materials and construction? I like a few of the AE's but most other brands (there must be a few million out there) mean nothing to me (yet).

I don't know what I can find in Montreal but I'm going to NYC/NJ at the end of the month; any good spots to look for deals, or even just some shops that carry recommended lines?

Oh, and shoemart.com isn't an online store... mistyped maybe?
  4. Mahler

Mahler Active Member with Corp. Privileges

Not so black and white