Goodyear Welt vs adhesive construction

Discussion in 'Andy's Fashion Forum' started by epj1906, Mar 9, 2011.

1. epj1906

epj1906 Starting Member

Can anyone explain to me in simple terms the pros and cons of Goodyear welt construction vs adhesive construction for a pair of full leather shoes in the $150 - $200 price range? Is the Goodyear method far superior and indeed warrants a much higher cost premium?

I'm a total noob to this board, so please take it easy on me. :icon_smile_big:

Thanks

2. Grenadier

Grenadier Active Member with Corp. Privileges

United States
    Arizona
    Phoenix
    Adhesive construction should be avoided at all costs; it will fall apart far more quickly than goodyear/blake constructed shoes. Goodyear/blake constructed shoes are also resoleable, meaning that when the sole wears down, the old sole can be removed and a new sole can be attached. This greatly prolongs the life of the shoe.

3. Finian McLonergan

Finian McLonergan Active Member with Corp. Privileges

4. Claus

Claus New Member

I'm going to present the minority opinion:

Goodyear-welted is used as a signal of quality. But just like many other signals, it can be abused.

First, even most Goodyear-welted shoes are indirectly glued, for the welt is attached to a rib of canvas that is glued to the sole. Second, stitching the lower sole to the welt is a matter of minutes for a skilled maker, so it doesn't add much costs. In fact, the major part of the price for most RTW shoes is not material or production, but sales and distribution.

Consequently, you can find Goodyear-welted shoes with cheap and badly polished leather, made in cheap labor countries, and generally of low quality.

So, what are the differences?

You can resole nearly any pair of shoes, so that's not an issue. In fact, resoling Goodyear-welted shoes is often more expensive.

Refurbishing, on the other hand, is usually just done with stitched shoes (Goodyear, Blake, BlakeRapid, Norwegian, etc.)