DE razor, how often do you change the blade, can you turn it upside down for more use?

Discussion in 'Grooming' started by patatty, Jan 13, 2012.

1. patatty

patatty New Member

United States
    NY
    NY
    A newbie here using a DE razor. Ordered an Edwin Jagger DE razor from Amazon (the $30 model; I don't remember the name). It took me a week to overcome my fear of slicing my face and severing arteries, before I first used it. Not too bad so far. I definitely get less irritation compared with the multi blade Gillette cartridge I was using (I think it had five blades, or some crazy number like that). However, the shave is not as close. My question is, how many shaves do you typically get per blade? Also, if you turn the blade upside down, will you get more shaves from the other side? After five shaves this week, it seems the blade is definitely more dull. For now I'm using the standard blades that came with the razor. I did order an assortment (also from Amazon) to try, since the consensus here seems to be that different blades give different results, and one should experiment until shaving nirvana is reached. Any recommendations for blades that give a really close shave? My guess is that the closeness is proportional to the amount of potential cutting and bleeding. Thanks.

2. jamesensor

jamesensor Active Member with Corp. Privileges

United States
    DC
    Washington
    I have a lighter beard - so I change every five days or so. I would not flip the blade over. Head over to Badger and Blade for some great advice. I also ordered a 100 pack assortment of blades from that forum for $17 when I first started that really helped me. I ended up liking the simple Gilette 7 o'clock blades, but again I don't have a heavy beard.

3. Bjorn

Bjorn Moderator

Sweden
    Sweden
    Balsta
    I change blades every other shave, I'm guessing we have the same EJ DE89. I buy cheap blades and change often.