-->

Budget English Tailors

Discussion in 'Andy's Fashion Forum' started by step-hent, Jun 20, 2005.

1. step-hent

step-hent Starting Member

Im fairly new to AAAC - Im finding it very interesting reading others comments on various budget tailors. I have ordered both suits and shirts from Ravi and have been impressed with both. However, I am interested to compare these with suits from a tailor who fits the suits himself. As my budget is not large (read small) I have been looking into two visiting tailors here in the UK - dress2kill.com and King and Allen. Has anyone had any experience with either of these?

cheers

Steve

2. sonteq

sonteq Starting Member

I'm not sure about dress2kill however I purchased a suit from king and allen about 6 months ago, I think it cost £249 with £50 discount. Unfortunately the edge of the trouser pockets started to fray through normal use after a couple of months. So my experience has not been very positive :mad:

3. whistle_blower71

whistle_blower71 Super Member

Steve

What is your budget? I am guessing around £500? In London, the better "pt" suits start around £650 to £750. This would be for a half-canvas construction. Anything cheaper is likely to be fully-fused (the same quality as most High St shops selling for £150).
    Unless you are an odd shape, buy a ready-made and go to a good alteration tailor. He can change the buttons to horn (sometimes even make them working) , take the waist in, add a flower-loop, remove belt-loops and add brace buttons etc.
    I used to do this with M&S suits when I first left school and they were much better then my first cheap made-to-measure at almost three times the price.

W_B

No disrespect to "dress2kill" or "king and allen" whom I have had no dealings with.

Last edited: Jul 26, 2006
  4. tel star

tel star Active Member with Corp. Privileges