Anybody made his own shirt?

Discussion in 'Bespoke Clothing' started by phr33dom, Oct 18, 2015.

1. phr33dom

phr33dom Active Member with Corp. Privileges

UK
    Suffolk
    Bury St Edmunds
    I'm wondering how difficult it would be to make your own shirt to an acceptable standard of workmanship? I have some sewing machine experience and have both a regular sewing machine and an overlocker (serger). I've had about 20 shirts made for me in Bangkok over the years and have one unwashed and unworn template shirt that a copy once shrunken would fit me perfectly. Obviously it's way more convenient to have it made in Bangkok and only costs USD50 per shirt if made from the finest quality shirting, but I would see it as a personal project and would enjoy wearing a shirt I made myself.

2. Dhaller

Dhaller Super Member

United States
    Georgia
    Atlanta
    Maybe when I was a kid?

Think of this in terms of numbers: an experienced shirt-maker - let's say he's been doing it twelve years (he's in his early-mid 30s) has probably made 1000-1200 shirts. So, this is one option to having a shirt made: the guy with a full range of equipment, training, and fabrics, who's made 1000 shirts, and it's what he DOES every day, undistracted by other things (an other profession, for example), and who may even work with a few other shirt makers should he need advice or assistance.

Compare this to making your own shirt: you have "some sewing machine experience". You've never actually made a shirt... but you do have a couple of sewing machines.

I'm just going to come out and say it: no, you can't make a shirt to an acceptable standard of workmanship. You will wind up spending far more money and time and you'll wind up with a crummy, unwearable, amateurish "shirt".

Just have it made!

DH

3. eagle2250

eagle2250 Connoisseur - Moderator

Harmony, FL
    United States
    Florida
    Harmony