Country
    United States
    State
    NC
    City
    Raleigh

Default My tour of the Allen Edmonds manufacturing facility (a.k.a. "heaven")

Recently, it was my pleasure to tour the Allen Edmonds manufacturing facility in Port Washington, Wisconsin. Six hours flew by in a blur of beautiful leather, whirring machinery and more information than either my pen or my cellphone camera could keep up with. AskAndyAboutClothes founder Andy Gilchrist, who has very kindly mentored me as I’ve started my own blog (see note below), invited me to share my experience with my fellow AAAC forum members.

First, however, I’d like to mention that I’m not actually a fellow at all. I am a female professional who happens to love fine men’s dress shoes. By day, I am responsible for U.S. internal communications for a 145,000 person global company: I craft corporate messaging, create content for the company intranet, and plan events.

By night, I research and write about shoes and shoe construction, which is how I discovered these forums. I have learned so much here, from many of you. It seems that every time I Google a term or question – Goodyear versus Blake welt, the difference between an oxford and a derby (or “balmoral” and “blucher,” as some prefer), straight lacing or crisscross – an AAAC forum entry pops up and the information is right there at my fingertips. Thank you for sharing your knowledge and experience!

As for why I love men’s dress shoes, well, I love them for all the same reasons you do: They are beautifully classic, elegant, and comfortable. They are more than a fashion statement: They are armor, and no less so for me than for you. The British designer Edwin Hardy Amies once said “It is totally impossible to be well-dressed in cheap shoes,” and he was right.