Default Does The Sun Fade Clothes?

Hello all, I'm relatively new around here and so I hope this thread is in the correct forum.

I'm a college student, and during the semester I refuse to use the communal washing machines for reasons that are self-evident. That said, I'm now home for the summer and have at my disposal a decent washer/dryer.

I've done some research on this forum and found some neat advice on either using the machine's gentle cycle or hand washing clothes, but the guidelines regarding line drying are a bit more ambiguous.

Although I have my dress shirts ironed, I'm a bit less sure how to treat my weekend wear. To be frank, though, it is closer to my everyday wear considering my status as a student. I value my collection, and so I'm striving to take care of the clothes in a manner that promotes longevity and graceful aging.

Please excuse my ignorance, but I live in a hot and humid climate, and I'm wondering whether drying my clothes in the sun would lead to the colors fading. I'm not quite sure how else I would dry them, but I might prefer to do so indoors if the sun is detrimental to their integrity. That or perhaps I should learn to iron my shirts while still damp? Not sure if this is overkill for what are mostly sport shirts/polos.

I've taken all other relevant steps to preserve the integrity of the clothes, and would be grateful for any advice as to the specifics of line drying. Thanks in advance.

Country
    United States
    State
    New Jersey
    City
    Montclair

Clothes wear out. The sun will probably fade them if you line dry them. That's probably gentler on them, overall, than throwing them in the dryer. It also feels nicer, and is cheaper. Win/win/win.
    "Don't point that gun at him, he's an unpaid intern. " - SZ