Here you can find answers to questions about how the board works. Use the links or search box below to find your way around.
For the most part, your posts will contain plain text, but on occasions, you may want to emphasize certain words or phrases by making them (for example) bold or italic.
We have also enabled smilies, which allow you to use small icons to convey emotion, and the [img] code, which allows you to add pictures to your message.
For more information about vB code, click here.
Yes! To send an email to another member, you can either locate the member you want to contact on the member list, or click the button on any post made by that member.
This will usually open a page that contains a form where you can enter your message. When you have finished typing your message, press the [send email] button and your message will be sent instantly. Note that for privacy reasons, the email address of the recipient is not revealed to you during this process.
Note that if you can not find an email button or link for a member, it means that the member in question has specified that they do not wish to receive email from other members of the forum.
Another useful email function is the ability to send a friend a link to a thread you think they may find interesting. Whenever you view a thread, you will find a link somewhere on the page which will allow you to send a brief message to anyone you like.
The administrator has enabled the Private Messaging system. Registered members may send each other private messages.
Sending Private Messages
Private messages work a little like email, but are limited to registered members of this forum. You can include vB Code, smilies and images in private messages that you send.
You may send a private message to a member of this forum by clicking the 'Send A Private Message' link in the private messaging section of your user control panel, or by clicking the button in a member's posts.
When you send a message, you have the option to save a copy of the message in your Sent Items folder.
Private Message Folders
By default, you will have two folders in your private message area. These are the Inbox and the Sent Items folders.
The Inbox folder contains any new messages you receive, and allows you to view all the messages you have received, along with the name of the person who sent the message to you, and the date and time the message was sent.
The Sent Items folder contains a copy of any messages that you have sent, where you have specified that you wish to keep a copy of the message for future reference.
You may create additional folders for your messages by clicking the 'Edit Folders' link.
Each folder has a set of message controls which allow you to select messages, then either move them to one of your custom folders, or delete them completely. You may also have a button which allows you to forward multiple messages from a folder to another member of the forum.
You will need to periodically delete old messages, as the administrator has probably set a limit to the number of private messages you can have in your folders. If you exceed the number of messages specified by the administrator, you will not be able to send or receive new messages until you delete some old messages.
Whenever you read a message, you will have the option to reply to the message, or forward that message to another member of the forum. You may also have the ability to forward that message to multiple members of your buddy list.
When you send a new private message, you may have the option to request a read-receipt for that message. This will allow you to check whether or not a message has been read by its recipient by viewing the Private Message Tracking page.
This page is divided into two sections: unread messages and read messages.
The unread messages section shows all messages that you have sent with a read-receipt request, that have not yet been read by their recipient. The time of the last activity of the message recipient is also shown. Messages in this section can be cancelled if you decide that their contents are no longer relevant, or for any other reason. Cancelled messages can also be restored to active status if the administrator has enabled this feature.
The read messages section shows all messages you have sent with a receipt request that have been read and acknowledged by their recipient. The time that the message was read is also shown.
You may choose to end the tracking on any message you choose by selecting the message and clicking the [end tracking] button.
When you receive a message with a read-receipt request, you may have the option to read the message while denying the read-receipt request. To do this, simply click the 'deny receipt' link rather than the title of the message, if it appears.
This forum does not permit the use of attachments.
The calendar functions in a way similar to the forums in that there can be multiple calendars. One calendar could hold just events that only you are able to see while another will list Membership-wide events.
There are two types of events on the calendar: normal events and recurring events.
Normal Events span the time frame from when the event starts until the event ends.
Recurring Events repeat over a set period of time based on certain criteria. Examples would be an event that occurs on the first Monday of every month and an event that occurs every Monday and Wednesday.
You can post your own private events and schedule that is only viewable to you.
If you have registered, you will be able to edit and delete your posts. Note that the administrator(s) can disable this ability as desired. Your ability to edit your posts may also be time-limited, depending on a number of factors determined by Andy and Malinda.
To edit or delete your posts, click the button by the post you want to edit. If your post was the first in the thread, then deleting the post may result in the removal of the entire thread. Should you be the topic starter and responses have been made, deleting the first post can result in disciplinary action by the moderator. Do not delete threads which have responses! You may only edit the words of the starting post to read 'deleted'.
After you have made your modifications, a footnote will appear, which notifies other users that you have edited your post. Administrators and moderators may also edit your messages but this note will not appear when they do so.
The Moderator(s) oversee specific forums. Supermoderator(s) often oversee more than one forum. They generally have the ability to edit and delete posts, move threads, and perform other manipulations including temporarily or permanently locking members who violate AskAndy Rules. Becoming a moderator for a specific forum is sometimes rewarded to users who are particularly helpful and knowledgeable in the subject of the forum they are moderating.
The Administrator(s) oversee the entire operation of the Forum site. They can perform a wider range of forum operations than Moderators. It is from Administrators that Moderators receive the parameters of their moderation abilities.